It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:17 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 5:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:20 pm
Posts: 41
ECU Model: S40 Pro
owned this a few years ago and had chance to get it back for a good price so me and a mate went halves on it to share .its a tube chassis dragster made in the 80s by a well known usa vw drag racer .runnig a nitrous fed dtas40pro ecu controlled air-cooled flat four motor will be flying the dta flag at the door slammers event next weekend at santa pod in the 4cyl class :shock:


Attachments:
11891239_10153451086796294_699175478620002334_n.jpg
11891239_10153451086796294_699175478620002334_n.jpg [ 61.85 KiB | Viewed 1115 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 6:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
Should be fast ? Always liked the X1/9's, there's a local one here that does hillclimbs with a 2.0 engine, goes really well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:20 pm
Posts: 41
ECU Model: S40 Pro
it ran 10.60 with 170hp and 60 hp of gas so with the 230 hp motor and 130 hp of gas it should run into the 9s i hope we will see the gearbox is the weak spot so fingers crossed it'll hold together ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:20 pm
Posts: 41
ECU Model: S40 Pro
car ran fast today 9.85@137mph but pulled chute and it hit the wall not sure how bad it is but did look buggered....


Attachments:
35426492_10155585331612844_4938536027540160512_n.jpg
35426492_10155585331612844_4938536027540160512_n.jpg [ 60.74 KiB | Viewed 881 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
The chute caused that ?

I'll never understand why guys use parachutes when good brakes are so easy !

Hopefully it's just panel damage and nothing bend too badly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1099
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
dannyboy wrote:
car ran fast today 9.85@137mph but pulled chute and it hit the wall not sure how bad it is but did look buggered....


Ouch. Sorry to see that Danny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:20 pm
Posts: 41
ECU Model: S40 Pro
https://youtu.be/6TK0OP8CStw


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
Looked like a totally clean run until that.

Pod has a lot of room at the back end, is there really a need to be using the chute at all unless you're getting out of shape and trying to use it to pull things straight again ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:20 pm
Posts: 41
ECU Model: S40 Pro
the chute normally fine to deploy but i did it wrong today stupid mistake but let off the throttle and unloaded the car as i pulled chute .dumb mistake .but when i rebuild it ill add better brakes to the car front and rear instead of just rear single pots :o :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: fiat x 1/9...ish
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
dannyboy wrote:
the chute normally fine to deploy but i did it wrong today stupid mistake but let off the throttle and unloaded the car as i pulled chute .dumb mistake .but when i rebuild it ill add better brakes to the car front and rear instead of just rear single pots :o :P



So you need to deploy the chute under power ? Or after letting off ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours