E48 "I think" Ignition problems

This section is dedicated to discussion of DTA engine control units such as the DTA E48 EXP, P8 Pro, DTA S40, S60, S80, and S100, as well as all things ECU related.
ps20xe
ECU Model: No ECU
Distributor: QED
Firmware Version: V22.0

E48 "I think" Ignition problems

Post by ps20xe »

Hi,
Although I'm new to this forum I've been running a DTA ECU on a 20xe since 2000. Until recently it has been almost faultless. My ECU:
purchased in 2000
Model 4/IGN (not sure if this is E48 or an earlier model)
Version V6.0
Firmware V22.0
Serial No. 2248
Engine Vauxhall 20xe with DCOE45 carbs.
The problems started about a week ago when the engine cut out with banging in the exhaust. The only problem I've had in the past was due to the throttle position sensor so I disconnected it and managed to get it started and got home. I replaced the throttle pot, set the stops and tried to start it. Starting was extremely difficult with popping and vapour coming out of the carb intakes as if the timing was out. When it did start I checked the carb balance and then shut it down. It would not restart.
DTAwin Diagnostic Display showed Crank Sensor Errors = 0: Water Temp=85 short term errors: , Air Temp = 86 short term errors and Pressure sensor = 85 short term errors. This is a little strange as these sensors don't exist and should default to 80 C, 50 C and 0 kpa respectively.
I've checked the log and during startup the numbers are all over the place:
Time 0.0.6, RPM 446, ADV 90, INJ 0, THROT 19, W/Temp 188, PRESSURE 32609, CRANK ERROR 1, LAMBDA -7149, REST COUNT -16382.

If advance was really 90 then it explains why it would not start but what is causing the other numbers.

When it was running the log shows:
TIME 0.16.7, RPM 637, ADV 16.4, INJ 1.00, THROT 19, W/TEMP 80, PRESSURE 0, CRANK ERROR 9, LAMBDA 0, RESET COUNT -16425.

I checked the crank sensor as best as I can. It has a resistance of 534 ohms across pins 1 & 2.