It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:42 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 3:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
Posts: 190
ECU Model: S100 Pro
I've recently been suffering from misfires under load and traced the problem back to water inside the power loom. Some of the 12v and grounds were corroding quite badly so I pulled the whole power loom out and replaced around 50% of the wiring. Whilst I was replacing things I decided to upgrade the the two main ground's coming from pins 13 and 14 on the ecu connector as they were only 0.5mm wire, I upgraded to 0.75mm wire.

I installed the loom back in the car and the engine fired up no problem, but I have constant rpm drop outs, every 1-2 seconds rpm will drop to 150 and back up to 1000 again.

The sensor loom hasn't been touched and I find it hard to to believe that a crank sensor has failed but I won't rule it out.

My gut feeling is electrical interference from the coils, maybe the wiring was holding them back and now they're producing a stronger spark with more interference. I'm not ruling out water in the sensor loom either but that crank sensor is one continuous shielded cable all the way to the ecu so I think it's unlikely.

The ignition system has coils mounted on the bulkhead with long ht leads to the engine, the leads are copper! (been copper for years). The plug boots have about 5kohm resistance and i run ngk Resistor plugs. My first thoughts are to change the leads for resistance type.

Anyway it's very strange and It's got me baffled, for now :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 5:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1127
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Any crank errors in the diagnostics?
Log the crank errors, and see if they rise as the engine stumbles.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
Posts: 190
ECU Model: S100 Pro
It's the cam sensor!

It was throwing thousands of cam errors so I turned sequential off and rearranged the coil outputs and it runs.

Doesn't idle all that smoothly compared to sequential though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1127
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Crank scope next, see if the ECU is seeing anything from it at all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
Posts: 190
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Changed the cam sensor and it was no better!

Did a scope trace and everything checked out fine.

Plugged the sensor connector fully into the ecu and everything is fine.

I'll get my coat! :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1127
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
gnutz2 wrote:
Plugged the sensor connector fully into the ecu and everything is fine.


That does tend to help! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
Posts: 190
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Cam errors and cutting out came back :evil:

Straight away I looked at the sensor connector, checked the cable, checked it was fully inserted, it's all fine! Even tried different cam sensor positions in the software but no avail. I noticed when moving the wiring loom the engine started to run fine, figured out that if i disconnect the ground wire to the ecu case the errors and cutting out disappear. Electrical interference it is then!

The upgraded wiring on the coils must be causing some serious interference with the sensor loom. For now I'm going to leave the ecu ground off the case because the car drove fine without it the other day but it must need grounding for a reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
Posts: 190
ECU Model: S100 Pro
My ecu case ground goes to the same point as the power loom ground, should that be a problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2907
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
I think that's what it shows anyway ?

Most cars will work perfectly fine with no case ground, I think mine was the first ( or certainly one of the first ) to exhibit problems with the S-Series first came out !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unexpected problem!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
Posts: 190
ECU Model: S100 Pro
stevieturbo wrote:
I think that's what it shows anyway ?

Most cars will work perfectly fine with no case ground, I think mine was the first ( or certainly one of the first ) to exhibit problems with the S-Series first came out !


So you had problems when grounding the case? What kind of problems?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours