S40 ignition only on a turbo bug - oscilloscope problems

This section is dedicated to discussion of DTA engine control units such as the DTA E48 EXP, P8 Pro, DTA S40, S60, S80, and S100, as well as all things ECU related.
bazibbo
ECU Model: S40 Pro

S40 ignition only on a turbo bug - oscilloscope problems

Post by bazibbo »

Hi guys

I'm just putting an S40 ignition only ECU on my vw beetle turbo, mainly as a way of controlling boost but also as an introduction to ECUs. I'm an absolute newbie and was hopeing for a bolt on solution, but I've run into problems.

Running the oscilloscope, I'm getting a result 'unknown Crank Wheel or one Already in the flywheel mode list' the image appears to be missing a few bars...

I think the trigger wheel and sensor are mounted ok, it's from VW Speedshop

and here's the engine, for interest other than anyother thing, it's now all wired and ready to go...

any ideas?

ta
Barrie
Roverdose
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Distributor: Roverdose

Re: S40 ignition only on a turbo bug - oscilloscope problems

Post by Roverdose »

whats the size of the gap from sensor to trigger wheel? looks big from that pic.

Drew
lumley32
Firmware Version: 61

Post by lumley32 »

try takeing the plugs out, the dips and peeks are caused by the crank slowing down as it hits compression, sometimes this can cause problems

nice looking setup! even if it has to many wheels! :lol:
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Post by stevieturbo »

Start with basics to allow people to help.

What is the makeup of that disc ? ( I'll assume steel ) and how many teeth, and missing teeth ?

And what have you the ecu set to recognise ?

Sensor ? Hall or magnetic, and how is it wired ?

And when the engine is turning, is it turning fast and smoothly or very slowly ? ie battery and starter need to be good.
Jon K
Distributor: DTA UK
Firmware Version: 73

Post by Jon K »