Generic map/running in

This section is dedicated to discussion of DTA engine control units such as the DTA E48 EXP, P8 Pro, DTA S40, S60, S80, and S100, as well as all things ECU related.

Generic map/running in

Postby Daniboy123 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 7:52 pm

Hi, a few questions if I may to you knowledgeable people out there. I've built a 2litre 16vg60 vw engine which is going to need running in. I've also rewired the car to utilise a dta s80. Would it be foolish to try and get the car up with a generic map? Could I run the car in closed loop mode for example just to get it started alongside a generic map?. I'd at least like to be able to get the car to start and ensure that everything is OK, no leaks etc but I don't want to have any adverse effect on the bedding in period. Thanks.
Daniboy123
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:13 pm
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby katana » Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:59 am

A generic map should start the engine what happens after that depends on how similar or dis-similar your installation is compared to the generic - no one can speculate on that. Close loop running is not ideal until map is pretty close IMO - certainly I wouldn't use it for running in!
katana
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:08 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 29

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby rxboxster » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:30 am

yeah you need to get the map close,

You dont have to rag the crap out of it to map it up.

Is it a road or race car?
rxboxster
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 3:17 am
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby gnutz2 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:40 pm

Make sure you get a wideband lambda sensor installed and tweak the fuel map yourself while its running in, stay away from rich mixtures to avoid any possibility of bore wash.

Timing map should be fine for running in at light loads, you could pull 3 or 4 degrees out of the whole map if you were worried.
gnutz2
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:33 am
ECU Model: S100 Pro

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby Daniboy123 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:18 pm

I have an innovate wideband sensor so that will give me an accurate idea of how its fuelling. With a generic map in place and the car running what kind of lambda figure should I be aiming for? It's a road car. Supercharged, 2litre, Bosch 440cc injectors with TPS and MAP sensor will be running wasted spark with a coilpack.
This may be a daft question but why would running the car temporarily in closed loop so it tries to maintain a certain value be such a problem?. I'm only talking about getting it started and ensuring no leaks or other issues so I can take it to a professional.
Daniboy123
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:13 pm
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby ignitionautosport » Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:01 am

Once I had a car starting I've used closed loop to let it run up to temp - to be fair it's not hard to adjust a couple of cells to get it closer though anyway. Otherwise it might flood before it can trim back or vice versa.
| '94 GSR Lancer | '96 Toyota Carib 20V | '83 Toyota Starlet | www.ignitionautosport.co.nz |
User avatar
ignitionautosport
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:30 am
Location: New Zealand
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby Alex DTA » Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:46 am

I'm providing a start up map from my car, which has the same displacement and injectors, so it should be close enough to run in.
Alex DTA
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby Daniboy123 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:03 am

Thanks Alex. So with the map uploaded and the car turning over, good oil pressure crank signal fuel and spark is there anything else I'll need to do before starting?. Once running is it just a case of monitoring my wideband?. What would be a good lambda figure to ensure I'm not overfuelling?
Daniboy123
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:13 pm
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby Alex DTA » Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:59 am

Mine has wide band turned on, so that's all set for you. Just monitor it to make sure it's where you expect it to be. Which one is it?

The only thing you'll need to check is the crank sensor angle.
Alex DTA
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79

Re: Generic map/running in

Postby Daniboy123 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:27 am

It's the Mtx-l digital kit
Daniboy123
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:13 pm
ECU Model: S80 Pro

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron