It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:20 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: VDO Dip tube
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 7:37 am
Posts: 29
ECU Model: S60 Pro
My mk2 tank has a VDO fuel dip tube built into it can some give us thickos a hit if I need an adaptor box for it to work ?

60 empty to 5 ohms full ?

Cheers

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VDO Dip tube
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
the VDO's are shit.

Fozmula can build you a simple resistive sender to any length/spec you need, and are far better quality than VDO. I got mine from them and they were quite cheap ( albeit it did take a long time )

https://www.fozmula.com/product-categor ... l-sensors/

Or another

https://dmcomponents.co.uk/collections/ ... ular-tanks

If you're stuck with a crappy VDO, then these guys make a box to adapt to any range you want

https://www.spiyda.com/gauge-electronics.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VDO Dip tube
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 15
ECU Model: No ECU
Firmware Version: 34
Good question Paul!

I have a Vdo dip tube and it’s always stuck at half way so I never know how much fuel I have!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VDO Dip tube
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
That's another reason why they're shit ! lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VDO Dip tube
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 15
ECU Model: No ECU
Firmware Version: 34
stevieturbo wrote:
That's another reason why they're shit ! lol


Not a fan then ?! Lol

Which fozmula one would you recommend?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VDO Dip tube
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
The one that suits your needs.

Call them and ask, but if it's VDO replacement, then as already mentioned, you just need a simple resistive unit with a range that suits you, and to dimensions that suit you.

Only you can decide those aspects, but the 5 bolt flange up top is the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours