AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Discuss which Sensors work best with these ECUs and share how you are using inputs and outputs

AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Postby Liam » Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:47 am

Hi all,

I have an S40 Pro and an AEM X-Series UEGO AFR sensor controller gauge (30-0300). I wish to wire the AEM into the ECU for reference.

There is a 2 pin connector on my DTA engine loom for the wideband and I'm told that pin 1 is signal and pin 2 is sensor ground. Looking at the AEM wiring diagram (please see attached), it looks like the brown wire is the sensor ground so I'm assuming that needs to go to pin 2 on my connector, but which AEM wire is the signal I need to wire to pin 1?

Would also appreciate any advice on which lambda parameters to set in the software to make this work (the AEM uses a Bosch 4.9LSU sensor if that helps).

Many thanks
Attachments
aem.jpg
Liam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 2:55 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: MEF Motorsport
Firmware Version: 79.06

Re: AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Postby katana » Wed Oct 07, 2020 4:21 am

White - 0-5v Analog Input.
katana
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:08 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 29

Re: AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Postby Liam » Wed Oct 07, 2020 5:23 am

katana wrote:White - 0-5v Analog Input.


Easy as that, thanks very much. :)

I'm assuming "4 wire Bosch" is the correct voltage scale in the software? Or is it just a case of trial and error until the ECU and gauge are reading in sync?

Thanks again
Liam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 2:55 am
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: MEF Motorsport
Firmware Version: 79.06

Re: AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Postby Alex DTA » Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:34 am

Liam wrote:I'm assuming "4 wire Bosch" is the correct voltage scale in the software? Or is it just a case of trial and error until the ECU and gauge are reading in sync?

Thanks again


No. You'll need to find the output from the AEM and fill that in on the Lambda Parameters page.
Alex DTA
 
Posts: 1476
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79

Re: AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Postby katana » Wed Oct 07, 2020 11:24 am

Liam wrote:
katana wrote:White - 0-5v Analog Input.


Easy as that, thanks very much. :)

I'm assuming "4 wire Bosch" is the correct voltage scale in the software? Or is it just a case of trial and error until the ECU and gauge are reading in sync?

Thanks again


The '4 wire Bosch' isn't a wideband sensor in the truest sense - it was a more of a accurate narrow band with more scope either side. Early Motec's were about the only ECU's that natively understood its output & even then only for data logging purposes. All modern wideband sensors are 5 wire and need a controller.
katana
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:08 pm
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 29

Re: AEM Wideband into S40 Pro

Postby Nige » Sun Nov 15, 2020 2:20 pm

Make sure the Brown wire is connected to the ECU Sensor 0V. I didn`t at first and the ECU read differently to the gauge.

As soon as I wired them together the readings were identical.
Nige
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:42 am
ECU Model: S80 Pro


Return to Sensors, Inputs, and Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron