It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:57 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:30 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S60 Pro
ok thank you for these informations !
this is interesting !

here some pictures of what I've tried to fix my problem :

Image

So with this kind of sensor and bracket it works !
I decided to design bracket to fit inside the distributor housing and to fit a new crank wheel trigger (36 tooth -1) that I will TIG weld on the pulley like this :

Image[/url]
Image

I've designed these bracket to allow angular and airgap ajustement (arround 15° for the crank and arround 20° for the cam)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 813
ECU Model: S100 Pro
I'm not familiar with this engine or how the distributer works but I can't see how you can install a 36-1 on to a camshaft as it will turn at 1/2 engine speed. Adding the cam sensor device will tell the ecu no more than it knows from the 36-1 as it will be turning at the same speed.
To my mind the only way this must work is that the crank speed is taken from the 24-0 (or whatever - 0) and the ECU thinks it is a 12-0 at crank speed + the cam sensor.
Even if you could get it to work the ecu would read the wrong rpm and that would do my head in.
Unless I misunderstand and your new crank wheel goes on the front pulley, if so all's good :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:30 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Off course I'll not put a 36-1 trigger wheel on the camshaft

yes I'll put a new 36-1 on crankshaft pulley and stay with 1 tooth camshaft trigger as you can see on the pictures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2852
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
Ensure any crankwheel is mounted solidly to the crank.

ie most crank pulleys are of a damper style, with rubber insert between centre and outer pulley. So if you mount to the front of the pulley...ensure it mounts to the section that is solid to the crank and not the outer damper part.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:30 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S60 Pro
no problem, I don't have any rubber insert
The crankwheel and the pulley will be machinated to be very good mounted each other then I will use TIG weld to mount this so it will be solid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:30 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Hi everybody !

I've waited a long time the parts I've designed but now it fit on the engine and run :

Image

and a little movie :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bPq_iI-rVs

The system I've designed to have a good cam signal is not working good. So it work like this but not above 2000 rpm (because the option "one coil per plug" is activated and I havn't got a good cam signal).

Image

So i decided to work no-senquential.

But now I have a problem.
When I remove the option "one coil per plug" to run without cam signal the car is not running.

Image

I plug the coil as this :

pin 10 from DTA ---> coil 1 & 4
pin 26 from DTA ---> coil 2 & 3

to run wasted spark.
Now the engine is not running and I don't know why.

The coils are Denso coil per plug from honda CBR929

Someone have a solution ?

here is the general engine setting if it could bring some informations :

Image


Many thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1030
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
The coils must be wired to all 4 outputs, you cannot wire two to the same output, as yours are not amplified.

If you use the cam sensor, set one coil per plug to yes.
Otherwise, set One COil per Plug to no, and tick Twin Spark in General Engine settings.

The ECU is designed so you can change between wasted spark and sequential ignition with no wiring changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:30 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Ok thanks alex

I will try tomorrow and hope it will work !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:30 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S60 Pro
It works !

Many thanks alex for your amazing support
and thanks everybody for your comments !

best regards
Thibaut


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem using cam sensor inside Honda B serie distributo
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1030
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Glad you're sorted


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours