It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:18 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:34 am
Posts: 7
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Hi Guys

Hope fully one of you can help me out. I am building a 206 rally car, the engine is a standard 206/C2 1.6 16V TU5JP4 with standard plastic in take and a 206 gti cable throttle body. I have used all the original sensors.

The engine is running ok (with the MAP sensor disconnected and set at 100 kpa)
The sensor is Bosch no 0261 230 043 which has 4 pin connector and has a build in air temp sensor (which i am not using)

the problem is that sensor is scaled 20 kpa to 115 kps on approx 200 mV to 4600mV
(100 kpa should be around 4000 mV) but at around 100 kpa i am getting an out put of 650 mV

The pins are wired 1 to ECU Ground, 2 not used, 3 5V feed from ECU and 4 Signal out put to ECU.

I have tried 3 different sensors ( one i dorrowed from my mates road going C2 VTS)

There is something wrong somewhere but i cant find it so if somebody could be of assistance that would be appreciated.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2913
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
So it isnt wired correctly ?

Wire it correctly and it should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:20 am
Posts: 179
I think it is wired correctly as pin 2 is air temp which you say you are not using.
Make sure you use sensor ground at pin 1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:34 am
Posts: 7
ECU Model: S60 Pro
I think it is wired as per the Bosch details, i have checked the continuity of the wires (ECU Ground and 5V supply) and they appear to be all right.

My only idea was that the ECU ground may be effected by other sensors that are wired to a common ECU Ground (TPS, Air temp, water temp) there is only a single pin connection to ECU.

Not sure if this could cause a problem - anybody any ideas on this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1139
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
TPS, water, air and MAP should all go to pin 33 or 29.
They must not go to pin 13/14 on the power connector.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:34 am
Posts: 7
ECU Model: S60 Pro
TPS, air temp,water temp and MAP are all wired to the sensor ground (pin 33)
but the map sensor is not giving the output i expect.

Looks like i will have to try a different MAP sensor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 5:09 pm
Posts: 214
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Firmware Version: 61
just a heads up on bosch 4 wire combined temp and pressure, 99% the pin numbers are wrong on cases. so the data sheet will be numbered left to right and the sensor will be numbered right to left! i have wired them the wrong way round more than once!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:34 am
Posts: 7
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Thanks for that Lumley32.

Will have a look at that this week end and see if it sorts the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:38 am
Posts: 54
Location: Aberdeen
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Yep - me too; The connector bodies are often labeled back to fron compared the sensor itself.

Go with the markings on the sensor itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MAP Sensor
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:34 am
Posts: 7
ECU Model: S60 Pro
you where spot on Lumley32. Thanks

I had wired the sensor to the pin numbers on the case, so i swapped the wiring round and it is working as it should.

Would never have figured that out.

Now i'm not sure it was worth the effort.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours