Trigger wheel mounting on Nissan SR20DE or DET

Discuss which Sensors work best with these ECUs and share how you are using inputs and outputs
crash69
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 62

Trigger wheel mounting on Nissan SR20DE or DET

Post by crash69 »

Im new to fitting ECU,s to engines, so please bare with me. LOL. Has anyone any idea to do this. I have got a 36-1 trigger wheel and mounting it on the crank pulley. I have machined the crank pulley to match the trigger wheel ad need to know in relation to TDC where to put the missing tooth and crank trigger.

As Nissan SR20 motors run a CAS unit which has 4 Crank trigger slots and 360 Cam trigger slots, do I need to fit a Crank trigger as well and use the trigger wheel as a Cam position sensor?

Any help would be appreciated
Don
turn right.... go fast.... turn right
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Re: Trigger wheel mounting on Nissan SR20DE or DET

Post by stevieturbo »

I'm guessing you havent either read the manual, any instructions, or the wiring diagrams ?

Page 3 of the wiring diagram gives a clue...the section with two specific Nissan trigger setups.

http://www.dtafast.co.uk/Downloads/Wiri ... iagram.pdf

If however you choose not to use the original Nissan setup and install a new crank trigger, then page 74 almost explains.
Fortunately the S series is more flexible than the older ecu's in that the trailing edge of the missing tooth can pretty much fall anywhere and you just tell the software where it is.
But I would say it is good practice to put it around 70-90deg BTDC cyl 1 on it's firing stroke.

http://www.dtafast.co.uk/Downloads/Manu ... Manual.pdf

But you certainly do not need a 36-1 crank trigger as well as the original Nissan trigger system.

Common sense for an easy install would be just to use the Nissan trigger and dont **** about with making anything.
Last edited by stevieturbo on Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
crash69

Post by crash69 »