Page 1 of 2

Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:57 pm
by bmwe36m3
Can anyone provide the correct settings to set up shift-cut with a DTAs100 and a Drenth dg500. I have an old school throttle cable not fly by wire throttle so I assume throttle blip on the down shift is not possible.
Regards,
R. Hansen

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:07 pm
by Alex DTA
What are you using to start and end the cut?

On the latest firmware it is possible to trigger a throttle blip using the gear pot. It's very engine dependent though. You would need some sort of solenoid connected via a relay to blip the throttle.

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:54 pm
by bmwe36m3
Not quite sure what you mean but I ordered the Drenth DMS shifter (25-03-0057) with integrated electronics, the analogue output signal of the gear lever electronics can be used to configure the ignition cut.

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:27 pm
by Alex DTA
Looks like that has a load cell integrated in to it.
Is there also a gear potentiometer on the gear box?

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:47 am
by bmwe36m3
Alex,
My understanding is as follows: The gearbox has a rotary sensor signal and is used to show the engaged gear on the Drenth Display Unit / .... and the Drenth Switchbox is equipped with two potentiometers, the upshift and downshift threshold ...
Does this make any sense to you? I am totally confused. It sounds like I need to buy the Drenth display unit and switchbox. What do you think?

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:09 am
by Alex DTA
Is this the correct unit?
https://www.drenth-gearboxes.com/wp-con ... ressed.pdf

If so, it has a built in gear potentiometer. You don't need any other sensor.
Connect that to the ECU and set up the shift cut. You can then do closed loop flat shifting.

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:06 am
by bmwe36m3
Alex,
That's great news, can you provide the detailed settings in the DTA s100 software?
Also, do I connect the shifter to the #14 pin in the s100 wiring?
Regards,
Ralph

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:08 am
by Alex DTA
Signal from the potentiometer goes to analogue 3, pin 3.

Attached is a good starting point.

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:33 am
by bmwe36m3
Thanks Alex,
So that's all, just connect the signal to pin#3 and install these settings and I am good. Do you suggest dyno time to fine tune the settings. Any other suggestion before I get started.
Regards,
Ralph

Re: Shift cut setting for Drenth dg500

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:44 am
by Alex DTA
Those are a starting point. You must tune them from there.