It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:36 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
apow wrote:
What would it cost to make this kind of box??

I am no good with electronics so is it something a newb could do?

Thx

Vas


Price of the parts is very little

If a newbie. Buy a 15 pin VGA extension cable.

Buy a 9 pin serial extension cable.

Cut the unused end off both, and use these to make all the connections inside the box itself. This is far easier than trying to solder onto the DB9 style connectors which are a nightmare due to their small size.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 847
ECU Model: S100 Pro
If you buy a 15 way lead make sure it has all the pins wired, there are some out there that have a pin missing as its not used on monitors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
Yup, hence an extension cable. It should have all pins connected.

Not always guaranteed, but it should.

Also, buy the thickest looking cable you can. Some of the wires inside really cheap ones are so thin they're a nightmare to work with


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:45 pm
Posts: 2
ECU Model: S40 Pro
I am trying to make one of these boxes, but I am unclear about which pin on the potentiometer pin 8 should be connected to.

All I can find regarding pots is the PIN numbers. None show clockwise or anti clockwise. Just 1,2 and 3

I know if I get it the wrong way round it will still work, just with the pots working the wrong way. ie turning clockwise will decrease instead of increase.

I have currently connected pin 1 on the pot to pin 8 of the 15 pin connector. This also connects as a common connection to all the buttons.
I hope that this makes sense.
Help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
stevieturbo wrote:
A bigger, perhaps clearer image here

http://www.quantums.info/dtalead.htm

And not forgetting as per DTA's pinout schedule that flash programming switch goes between pin 8 and 13 of the 15pin connector.


Link above shows markings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:08 pm
Posts: 2896
Location: Norn Iron
ECU Model: No ECU
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:45 pm
Posts: 2
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Thanks, I have seen this.
My confusion is which terminal on the pot to connect pin 8 to and which to connect pin 12 to. The diagram describes pin 1 and pin 3 on the pot as ACW or CW. My problem is getting these the right way round.

There are 3 pins on the pot with pin 2 being the middle one. This one I know goes to pin 6 for advance or pin 7 for fuelling. Depending on how I connect pins 1 and 3 on the pot will determine whether the pot increases fuelling / advance with a clockwise or anti clockwise turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 3:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:30 am
Posts: 571
Location: New Zealand
ECU Model: S80 Pro
To be fair, its not that difficult to resolder the wiring on the pots to change them if need be.
Plug it in and test and make sure the knobs and buttons do as they should, then change if need be.

_________________
| '94 GSR Lancer | '96 Toyota Carib 20V | '83 Toyota Starlet | www.ignitionautosport.co.nz and also on Google+ |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:08 pm
Posts: 258
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 29
ACW - anti clockwise.......CW - clockwise from knob side?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DTA Dyno Box/Serial Cable -- Schematics and Pictures
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 12:42 am
Posts: 6
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: Watsons
Firmware Version: 62
I have made a dyno box as provided by Stevieturbo. Advance works fine but fuel is unresponsive, whether coarse or fine. How should I troubleshoot this?

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours