DTA-S80 BMW Turbo tuning

Give input on tuning as well as any tips and tricks you may have. Also feel free to share base mapping files for various engine types.
rneedham1979

DTA-S80 BMW Turbo tuning

Post by rneedham1979 »

Hi Guys,
I'm new to the DTA, tuning and the forum and would love some help getting my project back to DD status.

A few months back I opted to go standalone because E85 and higher whp factory DME tuning was limited. I want to run E85 exclusively and there isn't an off the shelf DME tune available, especially for the 1000cc injectors I intend on running.

So, my plan was to learn (with the help of a friend) how to tune the car over time. Two weeks ago my DD, an e46 M3 blew up on the dyno. This forced me to do a 2.5 day turbo build on my E30 to make two back to back track events. I was given a base tune from Maximum psi (no vanos) and my buddy made slight adjustments, essentially making sure airfuels were OK under boost . We had limited time, the air fuels seemed safe and we ran the 4 day event. The car ran great and honestly, we had a blast.

Well, now I'm panning on driving the car daily and cold drivability is garbage. I'd like to solicit some help with tuning. I've sent the ignition map to quite a few people and everyone was shocked on how low timing was. I'd like to maximize my current set up, meaning finalize the ignition map, make the necessary fuel adjustments, and get the cold start and closed loop operations functioning properly. My current set up is as follows,

Stock BMW S50 w/.140 head gasket (9.0:1)
Bavarian Solutions stage 3 heads
Shrick camshafts
GT4088r turbo
MV-R 44mm wastegate
I'm currently running 60lb injectors. I have ID 1000's going in as soon as I get this base tune figured out.
AEM Uego wideband

The car does have a crazy shutdown problem. Once warm it runs and idles pretty well and out of no where the car will shut off. It doesn't do it when driving, just when the car's at idle.