VW bus S40 Cold starting

Give input on tuning as well as any tips and tricks you may have. Also feel free to share base mapping files for various engine types.
yakboy
ECU Model: S40 Pro

VW bus S40 Cold starting

Post by yakboy »

High a newbie here. I have a VW split bus with a 1776 engine. Have recently had a VW speedshop injection kit fitted with 38IDF throttle bodies and an S40 pro ECU. Me and my local tuners (Dynobike in Malton) are having a little trouble getting the cold starting programme right we have got everything else on the map dialled in fantastically but at the moment the starting map is very unsubtle and basically throws fuel at the engine for the first thirty seconds so the engine is as rough as a badgers a*r*e and still stalls unless you keep you foot on the gas. Does anybody in with a VW and a similar setup have any tips or a map they could share. Thanks in advance.
Simon
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Re: VW bus S40 Cold starting

Post by stevieturbo »

Such settings are always trial and error.

But most importantly...it's all very well throwing fuel at a cold engine, but it also needs air.

And 30 seconds for warmup is nowhere near enough, and 30s for cranking enrichment is far too much.

Get good hot starting sorted, zero all temp related enrichments etc, then wait til it;s cold and work from there.

Some engines will need a lot, some very little
Rob Stevens
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: None-Coil On Plug :)

Post by Rob Stevens »

As Stevie says, get the hot start and idle bang on first. then look at the cold start. I no longer use water temp compensations , I rely only on start up map only. Engine will need a little throttle (AIR) to start,.
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Post by stevieturbo »

If you dont use an air valve.

Set hot idle at say 2-300rpm higher than you'd like with say 20-25deg of timing ( assuming engine is happy at that )

then use ignition timing idle control to pull the rpm back down again for the hot idle.