It is currently Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:54 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1030
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Hi Forrest

I've had a couple of S100s that I've really struggled to connect to. It's just a matter of keeping trying.

A couple of tips that might help:
- Keep the flash button pressed for a count of 10
- Leave the ECU powered up for a while. 10 minutes or more.
- Try a few times in a row

If none of those work, feel free to send it back to me.

Alex

stevieturbo wrote:
Cant remember if there is an option for different COM ports via the SFlash software ?


Yes, you can use COM ports 1 thourgh 4.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:57 am
Posts: 3
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Distributor: Allan
Firmware Version: 79.00
Thanks Steveieturbo and Alex

I've just been trying all your tips Alex for about an hour on the S100 but with no joy!

I also tried an S80 that I have in another car which was running v60 and it connected and updated with no problems!

So I guess I'll need to send it back to be updated at some point.

Again thanks for the help guys.

Forrest


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:20 pm
Posts: 100
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Firmware Version: 58
I know from experience that the software used for upgrading the firmware is very time(or better timeout) critical.

With certain USB adapters(full modem compatible) it worked most of the time, but not always, and even when using a 'hardware' serial port, it does not always work.

What could help is that you close every window and running program, and even stop Ethernet(switch it off), and then try with only the firmware upgrade program via a hardware serial port.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 5:09 pm
Posts: 212
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Firmware Version: 61
i found that i could not flash my S80 unless both the ground pins and the case ground were connected. i had just put one ground pin on my bench loom and not bothered with the case assuming they would all be connected inside!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1030
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
lumley32 wrote:
i found that i could not flash my S80 unless both the ground pins and the case ground were connected. i had just put one ground pin on my bench loom and not bothered with the case assuming they would all be connected inside!


That's interesting, I'll test that next time. Thanks for the feedback.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:44 pm
Posts: 7
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Bump for an ongoing thread, I was having difficulty connecting to my S80 but after a lot of attempts finally got it to work by leaving the ECU on for a couple of minutes before hitting the 'reload monitor' button. Worked fine then.

That was using Windows XP and a USB converter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:58 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Firmware Version: 66.02
I'ts about time I updated the firmware on my S80 - I've never done this before. I've downloaded the "S series ECU Flash Program" from the DTA website and unzipped it but there is no Setup.exe file in "Disk 1" as explained in the firmware upgrading instructions. Am I looking in the right place?

Thanks very much

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1030
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
There should be. Try downloading it again. I've just checked, and it's still there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 4:58 pm
Posts: 14
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Firmware Version: 66.02
Sorry for delay in replying. Re-tried this yesterday and successfully updated! Few false starts with the com port settings, but got there in the end.

Thanks for your help

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flashing DTA S-Series
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:12 pm
Posts: 36
ECU Model: No ECU
A little late to the party, but after being so busy finally back to doing some FAQ Guides.

As such, here is a guide on how to flash an ECU.

going to tidy up the com ports one too and maybe make a post on here with all the FAQ guides together.


Attachments:
File comment: Basics of flashing an ECU
Flashing New Firmware to DTA S.pdf [794.56 KiB]
Downloaded 99 times
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours