It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:25 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:45 am
Posts: 502
Location: Lancashire
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: Mefmotorsport
Firmware Version: 79
I thought I'd share this with you as most people on here tend to make their own looms so I'm not really going to loose any business!

Here's a link to a guy called Arthur who can supply 20awg and 22awg Rachem 55 ptfe wire in whatever lengths you want. It's twisted pair so you get good value for £0.495/m only black/white but who cares! He's a very good seller on ebay, very reliable too.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... _500wt_922

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AIRFRAME-WIRE ... _500wt_922

He does a better price too if you contact him directly if you're purchasing a lot!

I also got some nice 22awg ptfe twin screened for crank sensors etc from this guy at a very good price.

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 12
ECU Model: No ECU
Firmware Version: 34
Hi Martin,

Do you still get you cable from this guy or can you recommend anyone else?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:45 am
Posts: 502
Location: Lancashire
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: Mefmotorsport
Firmware Version: 79
No, since Ive been making looms on a bigger scale I now buy 50m rolls of spec44 20 and 22awg on a more regular basis. If you only want small quantities I can supply whatever you need. Pm or email me with your requirements and I’ll see what I can do for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 12
ECU Model: No ECU
Firmware Version: 34
Thanks Martin. I will have a measure up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:08 pm
Posts: 264
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Firmware Version: 29
Always had good service from these guys -
http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.eu/s ... wall-cable ....... and 30m reels may be more economic for single colour type looms.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:45 am
Posts: 502
Location: Lancashire
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: Mefmotorsport
Firmware Version: 79
Yes but that’s just general thinwall plastic stuff, not the proper Professional Rachem Spec44 wire. A lot different! If you’re trying to make a proper top quality loom then you’re better off using the lightweight and thinner spec44 wire that’s used by the majority of motorsport loom manufacturers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 860
ECU Model: S100 Pro
I used the Rachem 44 to make the loom for my race car and the size of the wire is comically small for the capacity and its resistance to abrasion is excellent, I used more conventional cable for the high current sections but I'd strongly recommend the spec44. if you are looking at a proper job.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 7:37 am
Posts: 23
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Hi Martin What’s the difference between spec 44 and 55 apart from the cost ?

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:45 am
Posts: 502
Location: Lancashire
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Distributor: Mefmotorsport
Firmware Version: 79
Huxley wrote:
Hi Martin What’s the difference between spec 44 and 55 apart from the cost ?

Paul


I think spec 55 is a higher spec, ie. temperature rating, max working voltage etc... just google it!

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Source of wire for making looms
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:26 pm
Posts: 4
ECU Model: S60 Pro
Have a look at 12volt planet for wire
Sell buy the meter and lots of choices


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours