It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:43 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 111 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1100
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
There's lots of boost related improvements I want to do, but it will be a while.
I hadn't thought about boost based on the analogues, so I'll add that as a request.

Flex fuel is digital, frequency = ethanol content, pulse width = temperature.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Choke
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:42 am
Posts: 57
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: Lotusbits
Firmware Version: 75
gnutz2 wrote:
rjwooll wrote:
Given the difficulty of setting up reliable cold starting with the ECU (because it's so difficult to run repeat tests as once the engine starts it starts to get warm) could a manual choke option be introduced? The choke would be connected to a throttle pot and feed into an aux input on the ECU. The position of the throttle pot would control the % overfuelling, with a maximum of say 200% increase (=3 x normal)

Not a major problem for most on here I know, but for those of us running road cars cold winter starts can be difficult and it requires quite a lot of trial and error to set up the cold start table correctly.


Wire up a potentiometer into any of the analogue inputs, set the fuel modifier from 0 to 200% or whatever you want and you have what you describe. You can also set the secondary input to water temp, say 50c and disable the function above that temp.

That sounds like it does just what I need! However I can't find a fuel modifier parameter in the software. Could you point me iun the right direction?

Thanks, Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 848
ECU Model: S100 Pro
I'm not sure this will work during cranking but needs the engine running


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 3:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:30 am
Posts: 571
Location: New Zealand
ECU Model: S80 Pro
You can set fuel trim based on analogue input, in the input setup window. think only first 3 allow it.

_________________
| '94 GSR Lancer | '96 Toyota Carib 20V | '83 Toyota Starlet | www.ignitionautosport.co.nz and also on Google+ |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:42 am
Posts: 57
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: Lotusbits
Firmware Version: 75
ignitionautosport wrote:
You can set fuel trim based on analogue input, in the input setup window. think only first 3 allow it.

OK I've found it in the manual (p68).

I've never come across this feature before - it looks like it will do exactly what I want!

I believe the fuel map is used while cranking (don't think there is anything else that the system can use) so this should work. It's only ignition that uses the tooth position on the crank sensor instead of the map.

Thank you so much!

Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 848
ECU Model: S100 Pro
Like I said I'm not sure if these work during cranking, check with Alex.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:03 pm
Posts: 1100
ECU Model: S40 Pro
Distributor: DTA
Firmware Version: 79
Should do, it's only the Aux out that's off until the engine is running.
I'll test it tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:41 pm
Posts: 42
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Don't know if it has been mentioned before but would it be possible to add a tick box into aux4/5/6 that references to the gear position potentionmeter so that a neutral light could be switched on sequential/motorcycle gearboxes?
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 848
ECU Model: S100 Pro
you can set up a neutral light now using one of the aux outputs . just set the pwm to 100% when in the neutral band and 0% outside. you can probably do the same on the 4+ aux. don't have software right now to check.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Feature Request thread ( make sticky )
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:41 pm
Posts: 42
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Ahh yes sorry. I forgot most of the inputs and outputs can have different uses and hence descriptions. I've connected the gear pot to ana3 as the cct drawing shows and that has a tick-box. Thanks for the pointer.

Only draw-back is these outputs are only active with engine running, it would've been useful to have it working with ecu on but engine not running, so neutral could be confirmed before starting engine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 111 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Theme designed by stylerbb.net © 2008
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 5 hours