S80Pro on 1UZ and ITB

This section is dedicated to discussion of DTA engine control units such as the DTA E48 EXP, P8 Pro, DTA S40, S60, S80, and S100, as well as all things ECU related.
Sir Humpalot
ECU Model: S80 Pro
Distributor: Roverdose
Firmware Version: 66

S80Pro on 1UZ and ITB

Post by Sir Humpalot »

Hi all,

I'm very new to DTA, but not totally to standalone ECU setting. There are still many things that I'm figuring out on my 1UZ ITB.

The setup is pretty straight forward, nothing too fancy at this stage. The motor came of a LS400 ('96) with ITB and COP from Denso. I'm using hall effect sensor for both crank/cam sensor.

Currently I'm facing the ECU heating issue. The ECU gets very hot when it is switched on for about 3minutes. This engine will starts but after about 10-15 minutes it would just shut itself down, which I believes it's the feature of the S80Pro to protect the circuit from melting. I've tried to diagnose the problem by disconnecting all injectors and coil to remove any load from the ECU. Even with all the inject and coil are plugged, the ECU tends to be very very hot.

After things cool down, the engine will start and it can revs smooth to about 6500 rpm. However, it will get hot and shutdown after awhile.

Has anyone experienced this before? and can anyone help advice where I should be looking?
Attachments
DPP_0013.JPG
DPP_0012.JPG
stevieturbo
ECU Model: No ECU

Re: S80Pro on 1UZ and ITB

Post by stevieturbo »

You mention "the ecu heating issue" as if you've heard of it before or is common ?

Cant say Ive ever heard of it myself though.

Do all sensors read as expected, no warnings etc on screen ? Do you get a warning prior to shutdown ?

I really cant think what the problem is, other than either a wiring problem, or ecu setup problem as far as injector or coil drivers perhaps.